According to an article on MLive Red Berenson wants answers.
He freely admits in the article that it's mostly just sour grapes, but he says because he never received a good explanation, he thinks the rule does need to be qualified going forward. He is, evidently, going to work with the athletic department to get an explanation out of the NCAA.
My explanation? The ref was/is either a moron or a jackhole. He either made an insanely stupid mistake, or intentionally made the wrong call. We'll have to see how the NCAA goes with that one, because there can be no doubt that ONE of those is true.